Above: 2018 Wall of Honor inductees, from left, Diane MacDonald, Matt Plain, John Chandler, Bernice Pescosolido, and Guy Asadorian.

Five individuals have been selected for the East Greenwich High School’s Wall of Honor for 2020. They will be inducted in a ceremony next April in the East Greenwich High Auditorium. The exact date will be announced in January, as it is dependent on the high school’s schedule for the second half of the year. Traditionally it has been either the Wednesday of the week before or, the week after Spring Break.

Selected for the 2020 class are: childrens’ book author Susan Stevens Crummel of Fort Worth, Texas; her sister, Janet Stevens, a book illustrator, from Boulder, Colo.; Dr. Francis Pescosolido of Narragansett,  a psychiatrist; Phil Garvey, a former East Greenwich athlete, then coach, and a major in the US Marine Corps; and, Dennis Lynch of Narragansett, a former CEO of NYCE Payments and current chairman of Cardtronics, a global leader in ATM services.

It is hoped the advance notice gives recipients time to make plans for the ceremony and invite friends and family to come and share the night and the honor with them. The ceremony lasts roughly an hour and a half and is followed by a reception in the school cafeteria. The event is free to all and meant to celebrate the achievements of graduates of a small town high school. 

The East Greenwich High School Wall of Honor was started in 2008 and so far 68 people have been enshrined. Among those are a governor, a first lady, outstanding athletes, a NASA  director, outstanding coaches, TV personalities, a Navy admiral, prominent people from the world of business, a 9/11 hero and many people who have contributed to the town, the state and the nation. 

The Wall of Honor is not a Hall of Fame. People are chosen for the value of their achievements since leaving East Greenwich High School, and who will serve as a model and inspiration to current students at EGHS.

For further information and details, or if you would like to nominate someone to the Wall, contact Bob Houghtaling (230-2246), Chris Cobain (398-1562), or Bruce Mastracchio (885-3160).