Ballot Is Set: 10 Council, 5 School Committee Candidates

by | Jul 17, 2018

By Elizabeth F. McNamara

Ten people, including three incumbents, turned in the requisite 50 valid East Greenwich signatures to be placed on the ballot for Town Council Nov. 6. Five candidates for School Committee also turned in enough signatures to be on the ballot. The deadline for signatures was 4 p.m. Monday.

James Rosenman announced on Friday that he had decided not to run for Town Council. He declared his candidacy in June, running as an independent, but said in a tweet Friday he’d decided against the run because of “very new professional opportunities.”

The 10 candidates who remain are Charles Callanan (R), Town Council President Sue Cienki (R), Caryn Corenthal (D), Councilman Andy Deutsch (R), Mike Donegan (D), Renu Englehart (D), Bill Higgins (I), Sean O’Leary (I), Councilman Mark Schwager (D), and Mike Zarrella (D). All five seats on the Town Council are up for election; terms are two years. Read more about the candidates here.

Candidates for School Committee are Committeewoman Lori McEwen (D), Anne Musella (D), Alyson Powell (D), Eugene Quinn (D), and Susan Records (I). Four of the seven School Committee seats are up for election; terms are four years. Read more about the candidates here.

Both Democratic candidates for Senate Dist. 35 – Greg Acciardo and Bridget Valverde – submitted enough signatures to make the ballot so they will face off in a primary on Wednesday, Sept. 12 (Primary Day is postponed one day this year because of the Rosh Hashanah religious holiday). The winner of that contest will face Dana Gee (R), running for the seat now held by her husband, Mark. Gee also handed in enough signatures.

For the House Dist. 30 seat, both Justine Caldwell (D) and incumbent Anthony Giarrusso (R) both submitted enough signatures to make the November ballot.

In Senate Dist. 33, a district that touches the western part of East Greenwich, incumbent Leo Raptakis (D) will face Scott Copley (R) in November, both having submitted the requisite number of valid signatures.


Value the news you get here on East Greenwich News? As a 501-c3, we depend on reader support. Become a sustaining (monthly) donor or make a one-time donation! Click on the Donate button below or send a check to EG News, 18 Prospect St., East Greenwich, RI 02818. Thanks.

Notify of

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Heather Larkin
Heather Larkin
July 18, 2018 9:07 am

How many School Committee seats are open?

July 19, 2018 10:48 pm
Reply to  Heather Larkin

4- Fain, Sun, Winters and McEwen’s seats.


Newsletter Sign Up

* indicates required


Latest Streaming