Submit your questions for the candidates!

East Greenwich News and the East Greenwich Chamber of Commerce are presenting two candidate forums in October – state Sen. Dist. 35 and House Dist. 30 candidates on Monday, Oct. 1, and Town Council and School Committee candidates on Monday, Oct. 15.

New England Tech is hosting the event at its East Greenwich campus on Division Street. RIPR radio host Chuck Hinman will moderate.

The questions will come from residents. You can submit your questions as a comment on this story, via email at, on Facebook here, or via Twitter here. Deadline for questions for the Oct. 1 forum is Thursday, Sept. 27. For the Oct. 15 forum, the deadline is Thursday, Oct. 11.

Both forums will begin at 6 p.m. and will be held in New England Tech’s media theater on the first floor of the main building. Doors open at 5:30.

Candidates for House Dist. 30 are Democrat Justine Caldwell and Republican Anthony Giarrusso, the incumbent.

Candidates for Senate Dist. 35 are Republican Dana Gee and the winner of the Sept. 12 Democratic primary (either Greg Acciardo or Bridget Valverde).

Candidates for Town Council are are Charles Callanan (R), Town Council President Sue Cienki (R), Caryn Corenthal (D), Councilman Andy Deutsch (R), Mike Donegan (D), Renu Englehart (D), Bill Higgins (I), Sean O’Leary (I), Councilman Mark Schwager (D), and Mike Zarrella (D). All five seats on the Town Council are up for election; terms are two years. 

Candidates for School Committee are Committeewoman Lori McEwen (D), Anne Musella (D), Alyson Powell (D), Eugene Quinn (D), and Susan Records (I). Four of the seven School Committee seats are up for election; terms are four years.

Support local news – donate to East Greenwich News! Click on the Donate button below. We can’t do it without your help.