2 From EG Among Providence Gridiron Club Honorees

by | Mar 7, 2019

The Providence Gridiron Club will be holding its 26th Annual Awards Night on Wednesday, April 3, at 6 p.m. at the Quonset ‘O’ Club, 200 Lt. Brown Road, North Kingstown.

The club takes great pleasure in this night of presentations to the Best of the Best, which includes awards to both high school and college players, officials and others from all aspects of football in Rhode Island.

On that night awards will be given to the top players and coaches from all six divisions of Rhode Island High School football, the Lou Cimini Officiating Award; MVP Awards from all four Rhode Island football playing colleges; the Lawrence P. Gallogly Humanitarian Award; Jack Cronin Rhode Island High School Coach of the Year; Frank Morey Rhode Island Lineman of the Year Award; Frank “Monk” Maznicki Rhode Island Back of the Year  and the Gilbane Trophy to the Rhode Island High School Player of the Year. These last four will be announced the night of the banquet.

On the Divisional level, Joe Gilmartin,of North Kingstown, who also received the honor in 2015 (D2), was once again named Coach of the Year, this time for Division 1A. Jaylen Smith, hard-running Shea Raider running back, who is getting D1 attention, though only a junior, grabs the D1A Back of the Year. University of New Hampshire commit Dylan Poirier, also from NK’s Skippers, takes the Lineman of the Year in that division.

In D1B Cranston West Falcons’ Tom Milewski took Coach of the Year. LaSalle Academy Rams’ Nate Lucier is the top back and URI commit Montaner Fresilli of South Kingstown’s Rebels received the Lineman designation.

Charlie Bibeault of Woonsocket’s Villa Novans is the D2A Coach of the Year and his running back Emmanuel Gomes, a URI preferred walk on, is the choice for top back. Levon Dakessian of the East Greenwich Avengers is the choice for LOY in that division.

Former URI star DB, Coventry Knotty Oakers’ Stanley Dunbar, was the choice in D2B as its outstanding coach. Top scoring Tristan Turano of the Westerly Bulldogs is that division’s ace running back, while Big Brandon DiChaiaro of Burrillville’s Broncos is the Lineman.

D3 was the domain of Central Falls as the Warriors Coach, Back and Lineman all were named the best. They were Jeff Lapierre, Dutchie Arroyo and Jonathan Acosta.

It was the same in Chieftain country for D4 as Ponaganset HC Jim Cook, running back, Jeremy Stone and lineman, Matthew Ferreira took the top honors up north.

Nick Giorgio, former Cumberland, and, current Springfield College grid great, is being given the Pride of Rhode Island Award, presented to a former RI High School player who distinguishes himself academically and athletically at an out-of-state college.

Mitch Foresti, a longtime, veteran official in three sports, is being honored as the Lou Cimini Officiating Award winner.

Bruce Mastracchio is being honored with the Lawrence P. Gallogly Award, given for unselfish contribution to people and organizations in Rhode Island.

Tickets for the four-course prime-rib dinner are $40 and can be gotten by contacting Providence Gridiron Club President Robert Izzi at 378-4393 or at [email protected]. Between 250 and 300 people are expected at this prestigious affair so it would be wise to get your tickets now.


Value the news you get here on East Greenwich News? As a 501-c3, we depend on reader support. Become a sustaining (monthly) donor or make a one-time donation! Click on the Donate button below or send a check to EG News, 18 Prospect St., East Greenwich, RI 02818. Thanks.

Notify of

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Mark Thompson
Mark Thompson
March 8, 2019 2:40 pm

Way to go, Bruce!

Donna Rice
Donna Rice
March 13, 2019 8:08 am

Congratulations, Bruce


Newsletter Sign Up

* indicates required


Latest Streaming